What Lowe's does with your data
Grocery and mass retail. People use it through a rewards program, app, or connected service.
Data current as of 2026-09-25; statuses change.
- Program or app
- MyLowe's Rewards / MyLowe's Pro Rewards
- Members
- 30 million members (2026). 'More than 30 million members' per the Q2 2026 earnings call transcript on Lowe's own site (2026-08-19). The FY2025 annual report says 'over 30 million.'
- Retail media
- Lowe's One Roof Media Network. Ad revenue not disclosed
What it collects and does with your data
- Privacy statement says 'some of our advertising, marketing, and analytics practices may be considered sales or sharing' including customer IDs and purchase details shared with home improvement service partners and financial institutions.
- Privacy statement says in some states Lowe's uses 'image matching and analysis technology' on recorded footage after incidents, uses checkout-area cameras, and uses ALPR near parking areas.
- Opting out requires the cookie preference center or GPC per browser, plus a separate Lowe's Privacy Portal request for offline sales and sharing, plus a separate in-app setting.
Sensitive data
- image matching on store footage (policy)
- checkout cameras
- license plates (ALPR)
- precise location
- voice (alleged, pending suit)
Enforcement and litigation
2 matters in the research. Where the research says alleged, pending, or settled without admitting wrongdoing, so does this page.
- Proposed Illinois BIPA class action (Perkins, Cook County) alleging Lowe's customer service lines captured callers' voiceprints. Pending.
- Proposed Illinois BIPA class action (Cook County, 2019) alleging store cameras collected shoppers' faceprints. Status not found.
Who else holds your data
Organizations holding a copy of your data, as the research counts them: at least 7. Lower bound: one organization per disclosed category.
Third parties: 7 disclosed recipient categories. Product and service providers, marketplace sellers, third parties (warranties, joint marketing, ad platforms), legal and safety, business transfers; sale/share recipients add home improvement service partners and financial institutions.
Data brokers linked to Lowe's
None. The research documents no flow between Lowe's and a data broker.
Data practices score
8 of 12 scored. Five components, each 0 to 3. How the score works
- Sells or shares
- 2
- Enforcement
- 1
- Retail media scale
- unscored
- Sensitive data
- 3
- Opt-out friction
- 2
Estimated emissions for one person
Research gaps
- retail_media_scale unscored (null): revenue not disclosed; total excludes it.
- 2019 BIPA suit status not found.
- No email frequency measurement found.
Sources (4)
- https://corporate.lowes.com/sites/lowes-corp/files/low-usq-transcript-2026-08-19.pdf
- https://www.lowes.com/l/about/privacy-and-security-statement 2026-03-11
- https://www.courthousenews.com/lowes-hit-with-class-action-over-collection-of-consumers-voiceprints/ 2026-09-11
- https://www.biometricupdate.com/201909/new-biometrics-privacy-law-suits-filed-against-video-sharing-and-loss-prevention-systems 2019-09-04
The Sources page lists these with their kind and what else uses them.