What Kroger does with your data
Grocery and mass retail. People use it through a rewards program, app, or connected service.
Data current as of 2026-09-25; statuses change.
- Program or app
- Kroger Plus / Boost / Kroger app (plus Ralphs, Fred Meyer, King Soopers and other banners)
- Members
- 63 million households (2025). 10-K: 'approximately 63 million households annually'; over 95% of transactions tied to a loyalty card.
- Retail media
- Kroger Precision Marketing (with 84.51°). Ad revenue not disclosed
What it collects and does with your data
- Privacy notice CCPA table lists commercial information, identifiers, and customer records as 'Sold or Shared During the Prior 12 Months' to AdTech companies, social networks, data brokers, technology/SaaS providers, analytics providers, marketing vendors, identity resolution providers, and co-brand partners.
- Privacy notice says Kroger may collect 'facial recognition data' in select stores for security and loss prevention, with notice at entry, and that some cameras capture license plate data.
- Privacy notice ADMT section says Kroger may make purchase transaction information available to the business behind its co-branded credit card for underwriting and creditworthiness decisions.
- 10-K says alternative profit businesses, including data analytic services (84.51°) and retail media, contributed $1.5B of operating profit in 2025, and that KPM links media impressions directly to household transactions.
- The Markup reported 84.51° sells insights to more than 1,400 companies including General Mills, Unilever, Coca-Cola and Kraft Heinz.
- Senators Warren and Casey wrote to Kroger about electronic shelf labels and reported plans for facial recognition on EDGE shelves; Kroger said it does not use facial recognition in connection with shelf labels or pricing.
Sensitive data
- facial recognition in select stores (policy)
- license plates (camera capture)
- pharmacy and health
- precise geolocation
- purchase history used for co-brand credit underwriting
- payment
Enforcement and litigation
2 matters in the research. Where the research says alleged, pending, or settled without admitting wrongdoing, so does this page.
- Class actions (filed Nov. 2023) alleging Kroger's website sent pharmacy and health browsing data to Meta via the Meta Pixel. Status not confirmed; no resolution found.
- Accellion vendor breach class action (employees and pharmacy customers). Kroger proposed a $5M settlement. Amount: $5 million.
Who else holds your data
Organizations holding a copy of your data, as the research counts them: at least 13. Lower bound: one organization per disclosed recipient category, including data brokers. Excludes the 1,400+ 84.51° clients that receive derived insights rather than the record.
Third parties: 13 disclosed recipient categories. Named: Meta, Google (named as AdTech examples); 84.51° clients: 1,400+ companies per The Markup (aggregated insights). Categories: Kroger family, service providers, AdTech, payment providers, financial institutions, data brokers, social networks, co-brand partners, marketing vendors, identity resolution providers, technology/SaaS providers, analytics providers, legal/government.
Data brokers linked to Kroger
- Sells or shares with data brokers it doesn't name. "Privacy notice CCPA table lists commercial information, identifiers, and customer records as 'Sold or Shared During the Prior 12 Months' to AdTech companies, social networks, data brokers, technology/SaaS providers, analytics providers, marketing vendors, identity resolution providers, and co-brand partners." Kroger's own notice. Data brokers are a recipient category, not named. Already counted in Kroger's own figure.
Confidence: confirmed means the company confirmed it or reported it in a filing. Alleged means a complaint or petition says so, with no ruling found. Reported means journalism or a Senate letter. How brokers are included
Data practices score
13 of 15. Five components, each 0 to 3. How the score works
- Sells or shares
- 3
- Enforcement
- 2
- Retail media scale
- 3
- Sensitive data
- 3
- Opt-out friction
- 2
Retail media scale of 3 is inferred from $1.5B of alternative-profit operating profit, not a reported ad figure (research).
Estimated emissions for one person
Research gaps
- KPM ad revenue not disclosed; retail_media_scale of 3 is inferred from $1.5B alternative-profit operating profit and is not a reported ad figure.
- Kroger privacy notice read via Wayback Machine snapshot of 2026-09-18 (live site blocked automated access).
- Status of Meta Pixel suits not found.
- Accellion settlement final approval date not confirmed.
Sources (6)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/56873/000110465926037723/kr-20260131x10k.htm 2026-03-31
- https://www.kroger.com/i/privacy-policy 2026-09-09
- https://themarkup.org/privacy/2023/02/16/forget-milk-and-eggs-supermarkets-are-having-a-fire-sale-on-data-about-you 2023-02-16
- https://www.grocerydive.com/news/kroger-electronic-shelf-labels-instore-technology-senators-inflation/723939/ 2024-08-12
- https://themarkup.org/privacy/2023/11/27/kroger-sued-for-sharing-sensitive-health-data-with-meta 2023-11-27
- https://www.hipaajournal.com/kroger-proposes-5-million-settlement-to-resolve-data-breach-lawsuits/ 2021-07-09
The Sources page lists these with their kind and what else uses them.