What The Home Depot does with your data
Grocery and mass retail. People use it through a rewards program, app, or connected service.
Data current as of 2026-09-25; statuses change.
- Program or app
- Home Depot account / Pro Xtra
- Members
- No count found (2025). No loyalty member count disclosed. 10-K reports 1,601.5 million customer transactions in fiscal 2025.
- Retail media
- Orange Apron Media. Ad revenue not disclosed
What it collects and does with your data
- Privacy statement says Home Depot collects 'Facial recognition' biometric information 'via cameras at select stores, in parking lots, and at other facilities' for fraud prevention and asset protection.
- Privacy statement says it shares identifiers (including hashed emails), commercial, location, demographic and inference data with advertising and joint marketing partners, 'We may be compensated for this information,' and this may be a 'sale' or 'sharing' under state law.
- Privacy statement lists license plate number among identifiers and publishes a separate ALPR policy.
- Canada's Privacy Commissioner found Home Depot of Canada sent hashed emails and in-store purchase details of e-receipt customers to Meta (Offline Conversions) from 2018 to October 2022 without valid consent.
Sensitive data
- facial recognition at select stores and parking lots (policy)
- license plates (ALPR)
- precise geolocation
- payment
- race and ethnicity (policy)
Enforcement and litigation
3 matters in the research. Where the research says alleged, pending, or settled without admitting wrongdoing, so does this page.
- Multistate AG settlement (46 states and DC) over 2014 self-checkout payment card breach affecting about 40M consumers. Amount: $17.5 million.
- Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada finding (PIPEDA 2023-001) that Home Depot shared e-receipt customer data with Meta without meaningful consent. No fine.
- Jankowski v. The Home Depot (N.D. Ill. 1:25-cv-09144), BIPA class action alleging face scans at self-checkout. Voluntarily dismissed without prejudice 2025-10-31.
Who else holds your data
Organizations holding a copy of your data, as the research counts them: at least 10. Lower bound: nine disclosed categories plus Meta, named in the Canadian finding.
Third parties: 9 disclosed recipient categories. Named: Meta (per OPC Canada finding). Categories: service providers, manufacturers and warranty providers, joint marketing partners, financial services companies, advertising partners, business successors, advisors and consultants, law enforcement and government, affiliates.
Data brokers linked to The Home Depot
None. The research documents no flow between The Home Depot and a data broker.
Data practices score
11 of 12 scored. Five components, each 0 to 3. How the score works
- Sells or shares
- 3
- Enforcement
- 3
- Retail media scale
- unscored
- Sensitive data
- 3
- Opt-out friction
- 2
Estimated emissions for one person
Research gaps
- retail_media_scale unscored (null): Orange Apron Media revenue not disclosed; total excludes it.
- No loyalty member count.
- No email frequency measurement found.
Sources (6)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/354950/000162828026019436/hd-20260201.htm
- https://www.homedepot.com/privacy/privacy-and-security-statement 2025-12-29
- https://www.priv.gc.ca/en/opc-actions-and-decisions/investigations/investigations-into-businesses/2023/pipeda-2023-001/ 2023-01-26
- https://www.oag.ca.gov/news/press-releases/attorney-general-becerra-announces-175-million-settlement-against-home-depot 2020-11-24
- https://www.priv.gc.ca/en/opc-news/news-and-announcements/2023/nr-c_230126/ 2023-01-26
- https://www.dataprivacyandsecurityinsider.com/2025/11/home-depot-facial-scan-lawsuit-voluntarily-dismissed-whats-next-for-biometric-privacy-compliance/ 2025-08-01
The Sources page lists these with their kind and what else uses them.