What Albertsons Companies (Safeway, Jewel-Osco, Vons, others) does with your data
Grocery and mass retail. People use it through a rewards program, app, or connected service.
Data current as of 2026-09-25; statuses change.
- Program or app
- [Banner] for U loyalty
- Members
- 51.2 million members (2025). Loyalty members up 12% to 51.2M in fiscal 2025 (year ended 2026-02-28).
- Retail media
- Albertsons Media Collective. Ad revenue not disclosed
What it collects and does with your data
- Privacy policy CCPA section '2.2 Categories of Personal Data Sold to Third Parties' says it shares identifiers, device information, geolocation data, commercial data, behavioral data, and inferences with advertisers, marketing partners and platforms, data analytics providers, and social media networks.
- Privacy policy says in some states store cameras may capture biometrics (e.g., facial recognition technology) and parking-lot cameras may capture license plate information.
- Privacy policy describes brands supplying target audience lists that Albertsons matches against customer groupings, e.g., customers who bought ketchup in the last 6 months.
- 10-K says the Media Collective delivers targeted marketing for vendor partners 'supported by first-party customer data and advanced analytics developed through our loyalty and digital platforms.'
Sensitive data
- facial recognition in some states (policy)
- license plates (parking lot cameras)
- pharmacy and immunization data (HIPAA-covered)
- geolocation
- government ID scans for alcohol
Enforcement and litigation
2 matters in the research. Where the research says alleged, pending, or settled without admitting wrongdoing, so does this page.
- Kamel et al. v. Albertsons Companies: class action alleging marketing texts continued after consumers opted out. $5.95M settlement, preliminary approval 2025-07-11. Amount: $5.95 million.
- Illinois BIPA class settlement over Vocollect voice-picking technology at a Jewel-Osco distribution center (employees, not shoppers). Amount: $1,076,075.
Who else holds your data
Organizations holding a copy of your data, as the research counts them: at least 9. Lower bound: one organization per disclosed recipient category, sale recipients included.
Third parties: 9 disclosed recipient categories. Disclosure recipients: service providers, marketing/advertising agencies, analytics and retail merchandising vendors, measurement and tech providers, social networks, affiliates, government. Sale recipients add advertisers and data analytics providers.
Data brokers linked to Albertsons Companies (Safeway, Jewel-Osco, Vons, others)
None. The research documents no flow between Albertsons Companies (Safeway, Jewel-Osco, Vons, others) and a data broker.
Data practices score
11 of 12 scored. Five components, each 0 to 3. How the score works
- Sells or shares
- 3
- Enforcement
- 2
- Retail media scale
- unscored
- Sensitive data
- 3
- Opt-out friction
- 3
Estimated emissions for one person
Research gaps
- retail_media_scale unscored (null): Media Collective revenue not disclosed; total excludes it.
- Privacy policy read via Wayback Machine snapshot (live site behind a bot challenge).
- Vocollect settlement date not captured.
- No email frequency measurement found.
Sources (4)
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1646972/000164697226000032/aci-20260228.htm 2026-04-27
- https://www.albertsonscompanies.com/policies-and-disclosures/privacy-policy/default.aspx 2025-12-09
- https://www.classaction.org/news/5.95m-albertsons-settlement-ends-class-action-lawsuit-over-alleged-marketing-texts 2025-08-20
- https://topclassactions.com/lawsuit-settlements/closed-settlements/albertsons-biometric-privacy-1m-class-action-settlement/
The Sources page lists these with their kind and what else uses them.